Home Ecology History Photos Articles Camps Contribute  


The present brown-colored Moore-Rixford cottage and its green next-door neighbor stand on what old maps show was a single large lot. The brown camp was built by Willard Greene, a Burlington merchant, in 1896. Upon the death of his son, Henry Greene, the cottage was occupied by Mrs. Fuller and Mrs. Blake. Then, in 1920 it was turned over to the younger Fuller son, known as "Ned" or "Speed", of Burlington. He was a tennis and track athlete at UVM, having honed his tennis skills on the court which "Grandpa" Greene had blasted out of the slopeside at the top of his lot. His daughters said that he acquired the nickname "Speed" when he loaned his track shoes to a runner who won a big event; thereafter he was known as "Speed" because his shoes won but he didn't; Ned and his family were fixtures at the Point until his death in 1958; after his widow's death in 1974 title passed to the Fuller's three daughters.

The green cottage was the original Fuller place, built in 1887 by Truman Post Fuller, and by having been there from childhood Ned had a prime claim to being one of the Point's longest-term inhabitants. At the turn of the century he used to carry the mail by buggy or horseback from the Thompson's Point railroad crossing to the Glenwood Inn. Along with the brown cottage, the camp has most recently be shared by two of the Fuller daughters, Helene Moore of Charlotte and Jean Rixford of Highgate, and their children and grandchildren. The lakeside boathouse here is one of the unique features of Point architecture.

Moore Rixford Camp
Moore Rixford Camp

Back | Next | Home

Johnson Camp